Awards Watch

All eyes on these critically acclaimed books that are in the running for some of the prestigious awards in the literary world.

The Women's Prize for Fiction is one of the United Kingdom's most prestigious literary prizes. It is awarded annually to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year.

This year's winner is Brotherless Night, by V.V. Ganeshananthan

See the full shortlist for this year's award.

Check Out the Nominees from DMPL

See a list of previous winners


The Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction is a major new annual book prize in the United Kingdom that celebrates exceptional narrative non-fiction by women. The Prize promotes excellence in writing, robust research, original narrative voices and accessibility, showcasing women’s expertise across a range of fields. 

This year's winner is Doppelganger, by Naomi Klein.

See full shortlist for this year's award

Check out the nominees from DMPL


The Hugo Awards, first presented in 1953 and presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention, which is also responsible for administering them. The final award presentation will happen August 11, 2024 in Glasglow, Scotland.

About the Hugo Awards

Check out the nominees from DMPL


The Nebula Awards are presented by the Science fiction and Fantasy Writers of America to the best science fiction or fantasy novel of the previous calendar year.

This year's winner is The Saint of Bright Doors, by Vajra Chandrasekera.

About the Nebula Awards

Check out the nominees from DMPL


The Carol Shields Prize for Fiction is the first major English-language literary prize to celebrate creativity and excellence in fiction by women and non-binary writers in Canada and the United States, awarding $150,000 USD to its winner, and $12,500 USD to each of its four finalists.

This year's winner was Brotherless Night, by V.V. Ganeshananthan.

See full longlist for this year's award

Check out the nominees from DMPL


International Booker Prize 2024

Each year the International Booker Prize introduces readers to the best novels and short story collections from around the world that have been translated into English and published in the UK and/or Ireland. The prize recognizes the vital work of translators with the £50,000 prize money divided equally: £25,000 for the author and £25,000 for the translator

This year's winner was Kairos, by Jenny Erpenbeck.

See the full shortlist and longlist for this year's award

Check out the nominees from DMPL


The Lambda Literary Awards (Lammys for short) were created in 1989 to garner national visibility for LGBTQ books, which had established a foothold through a nascent network of lesbian and gay publishers and bookstores.

Today, the Lammys celebrate more than 150 LGBTQ writers across 26 categories. This year's winners will be announced and honored on Tuesday, June 11, in New York City.

See all the finalists for this year's awards

Check out the nominees from DMPL


The National Book Critics Circle includes nearly 800 member critics. Their awards are given each March and honor literature published in the United States in six categories—autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. This year's winners include I Am Not Homeless If This is Not My Home, by Lorrie Moore (fiction), and We Were Once a Family: A Story of Love, Death, and Child Removal in America, by Roxanna Asgarian (nonfiction).

See a full list of nominees in all categories.


The Edgar Awards honor the best in mystery fiction and nonfiction. They are awarded by the Mystery Writers of America. This year's winners include Flags on the Bayou, by James Lee Burke, and Crooked: The Roaring ’20s Tale of a Corrupt Attorney General, a Crusading Senator, and the Birth of the American Political Scandal by Nathan Masters. 

Click on the images above to see the finalists books and borrow them from the library.

See the full list of nominees in all categories, including Best First Novel, TV episode, and specialty awards.


The Audie Awards are the premier awards program in the United States recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment. They are presented by the Audio Publishers Association. This year's winner was Surrender, written and narrated by Bono. Check out the full list of all nominations.


Aspen Words

The Aspen Words Literary Prize is a $35,000 annual award for an influential work of fiction that illuminates a vital contemporary issue and demonstrates the transformative power of literature on thought and culture. Finalists will be announced March 13. The winner will be announced April 25.

See full longlist for this year's award

Check out the nominees from DMPL


The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence are presented by the American Library Association and reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals and booksellers who work closely with adult readers. See a full list of previous winners and nominees.