

RESOLUTION

Background

Recently discussions have escalated, at both the national and local levels, around reading material censorship and bans. Institutions such as schools and libraries have considered (and some have implemented) bans on certain books and other learning resources.

The Des Moines Public Library (DMPL) encourages freedom of thought and free speech within its walls and the community, as evidenced by its pioneering role in developing and adopting the Library Bill of Rights. Article I of the Library Bill of Rights states that: "Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all people of the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation." Article III further states that: "Libraries should challenge censorship in the fulfillment of their responsibility to provide information and enlightenment."

DMPL serves as a neutral and open forum for the exchange of ideas and learning resources. Since the Des Moines Public Library Foundation's mission is to raise funds and advocate for the Des Moines Public Library system, we support DMPL's mission and values.

Declaration of Action

Be it hereby resolved that the undersigned Directors of the Des Moines Public Library Foundation affirm our support and commitment to the Library Bill of Rights. We believe that libraries should serve the public purpose of educating their patrons by expanding their knowledge and views, and that this is best achieved through welcoming all ideas, so long as they are expressed in a non-violent manner. The Board of Directors of the Des Moines Public Library Foundation hereby denounce book banning or any other forms of thought censorship in our library system and in libraries the world over.



Dated: July 25, 2023

/s/ Paul Melde	/s/ Brianne Sanchez
Paul Melde, President	Brianne Sanchez, Vice President
/s/ Sara Ennis Henderson Sara Ennis Henderson, Secretary Cl	/s/ Chris Nebons hris Nebons, Treasurer
/s/ Belinda Alexander Belinda Alexander, Past President	<u>/s/ Andrea Elliott</u> Andrea Elliott
/s/ Oma Ford Oma Ford	/s/ Wes Graham Wes Graham
/s/ Sasha Kamper Sasha Kamper	<u>/s/ Nicole Krueger</u> Nicole Krueger
/s/ Cory McAnelly Cory McAnelly	<u>/s/ Chris Nelson</u> Chris Nelson
/s/ Laura Palmer Laura Palmer	<u>/s/ Amy Randeris-Schultz</u> Amy Randeris-Schultz
/s/ Christine Riccelli Christine Riccelli	/s/ Samuel Reed Samuel Reed
/s/ Martha Stephenson Martha Stephenson	

C: Kelly Shrock, Executive Director, DMPL Foundation Sue Woody, Director, DMPL